Canadian Wild Horse Race Association

Canadian Wild

Horse Race


Click here to edit subtitle

Welcome to the 2015 CWHRA Season!

Photos Courtesy of Allan Lacusta

Message from the CWHRA

Hi All,

It is with heavy hearts that the rodeo world has had to say goodbye to a fellow competitor over the past week.

The CWHRA would like to send their condolences to the Crowchild family as well as members of the Tsuu T'ina Nation on the passing of Gordon Crowchild. 

Crowchild is remembered as a true cowboy who had his hand in helping many individuals get their rodeo careers started or with mentoring those already competing. 

In 1995 he was named one of the Pioneers of Rodeo by the Calgary Stampede; he was inducted into the Canadian Pro Rodeo Hall of Fame in 2005; and competed in his last Wild Horse Race back in 2003 at the age of 74. 

Many fellow horse racers recall him as great man who loved to share his many stories.

Rodeo accomplishments aside, Gordon was also the Chief of Tsuu T'ina Nation from 1970 - 1976.


Crowchild remained a humble man, cowboy and friend until the end and he will not be forgotten.